Hogwarts Short Stories

Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide, Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies, & Power Politics and Pesky Poltergeists

As these books are so short and I read them all immediately after one another I thought I would sum up my views in one go. These were released at a perfect time for me as this year I had decided to reread all seven Harry Potter books and these, along with the Cursed Child, were published almost as soon as I’d finished the Deathly Hallows.

I loved the additional background information that we are given in these books, and I especially enjoyed the comments from J.K. Rowling explaining some of her choices regarding ideas for names, and also ideas that she eventually rejected. Some of the character background stories I particularly enjoyed were Professor McGonagall, Remus Lupin and Dolores Umbridge, and I also loved the history behind Azkaban and the Hogwarts Express. I was a little disappointed that Professor Kettleburn was included as he is such a minor character (I wouldn’t have known who he was if I hadn’t reread the books this year) and I would have preferred to have learnt about someone else, such as Sirius. However, these books reiterate how fantastic J.K. Rowling is at world building, and they are well worth a read for any Harry Potter fan.

Leave a Reply

