The Secret History – Donna Tartt

Donna Tartt’s The Secret History was one of those books that I kept hearing mentioned, kept reading positive things and kept noticing in bookshops so I finally decided to get around to reading it. It’s written from the perspective of Richard, a student at a New England college who befriends a group of classical Greek students. After gradually becoming part of the group he is privy to a shocking incident and the subsequent corruption and psychopathic behaviour.

I enjoyed the novel as a whole, but my expectations may have been set too high. The prose is beautifully written, but I felt that it was far too long; I enjoyed the middle part after a slow beginning but it seemed to slow down again towards the end. The characters aren’t particularly likeable and are rather pretentious, but I could sympathise with them feeling like misfits.

Having read other reviews that rave about this book I feel like I must have missed something and I may try rereading it at some point, but at the moment I’m not totally convinced by its hype.

Leave a Reply

