The Colour of Magic – Terry Pratchett

The Colour of Magic is the first novel in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and it describes the adventures of the wizard Rincewind, the tourist Twoflower and his case, ‘The Luggage’.

I’ve only read one other book in the Discworld series so far (Going Postal), and when I was researching where to start with the series I read several reviews mentioned that The Colour of Magic isn’t the best place to start, as it isn’t the easiest plot to follow and not Pratchett’s best writing. I would have to agree that it is a little confusing at times, but it was nice to have a little background to the world having read another story in the series. There were some humorous moments but I feel some of the satire went over my head with regards to references to other fantasy novels.

Overall it was nice to have some background information about Ankh-Morpork and the Discworld but I’m glad that I had read another book in the series previously.

Leave a Reply

