Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

Outlander is the first in a series of historical adventure novels by Diana Gabaldon, set in Scotland. Claire Randall is on holiday with her husband when she is suddenly thrown back in time to the Highlands in the eighteenth century. There she meets Jamie Fraser, and romance ensues amid the danger.

This was a fun read, and although any synopsis might sound cheesy it is better than it sounds! I’m not very knowledgable at all on the history of Scotland during the Jacobite risings so it was interesting to learn more about that period. It’s an impressive first novel, but it is quite long and I found it dragged a little occasionally. I was also surprised to learn that there are 8 novels in total so far – I’m not sure whether the plot is strong enough for that many books, but I will probably read the next in the series at some point.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s