Mort – Terry Pratchett

Mort, an awkward teenager, is recruited by Death as his apprentice. One evening when covering for Death, he decides not to follow the rules and allow Princess Keli to live, but this has a disastrous consequence on reality which he must try and fix.

This is the fourth novel in the Discworld series and is probably my favourite so far. It is full of humour and I loved the characterisation of Death. I look forward to seeing him in more Discworld novels.


Equal Rites – Terry Pratchett

The dying wizard Drum Billet passes on his powers to a baby, who he believes is an eighth son of an eighth son. However, it turns out that this baby is in fact female. As Eskarina grows up the town witch, Granny Weatherwax, tries to teach her how to use witch magic, but the power of wizards is different and so they decide to head to the Unseen University where they try and challenge the traditional misogynistic views of wizards.

This is the third novel in the Discworld series and it is full of typical Pratchett humour, from the obvious (Esk’s home town is called Bad Ass) to the more subtle wordplay. I’m enjoying working my way through the series and meeting new characters along the way.

The Light Fantastic – Terry Pratchett

This is the second published novel in the Discworld series and it picks up immediately from where The Colour of Magic left off. It describes the continued adventures of the wizards Rincewind, Twoflower and of course the Luggage.

I found this much easier to follow than its predecessor, The Colour of Magic because there are far fewer subplots. It’s a great light hearted fantasy story, and very humorous and witty.

Apparently the Discworld series gets better and better as it goes along. I’m looking forward to reading more and discovering for myself!

The Colour of Magic – Terry Pratchett

The Colour of Magic is the first novel in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and it describes the adventures of the wizard Rincewind, the tourist Twoflower and his case, ‘The Luggage’.

I’ve only read one other book in the Discworld series so far (Going Postal), and when I was researching where to start with the series I read several reviews mentioned that The Colour of Magic isn’t the best place to start, as it isn’t the easiest plot to follow and not Pratchett’s best writing. I would have to agree that it is a little confusing at times, but it was nice to have a little background to the world having read another story in the series. There were some humorous moments but I feel some of the satire went over my head with regards to references to other fantasy novels.

Overall it was nice to have some background information about Ankh-Morpork and the Discworld but I’m glad that I had read another book in the series previously.

Going Postal – Terry Pratchett

Going Postal was my first experience of the Discworld series by Terry Pratchett, and it was a fantastic introduction. It’s the story of Moist Von Lipwig, a con artist who is hired to try and revive the post office and postal service in Ankh-Morpork.

I really enjoyed Pratchett’s writing style and found some moments hilarious. As I’d opted not to start the series in chronological order, there were occasionally some background references that I didn’t fully understand but it didn’t spoil my reading experience at all, it just made me eager to read more!